An Old Man's Game: An Amos Parisman Mystery (Hardcover)

An Old Man's Game: An Amos Parisman Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


"Andy Weinberger has done something extraordinary with his first novel: he's written a truly great detective novel that is fresh and original, but already feels like it's a classic. In the tradition of Walter Mosley, Raymond Chandler, and Sue Grafton, semi-retired private eye Amos Parisman roams LA's seedy and not-so-seedy neighborhoods in pursuit of justice. I don't want another Amos Parisman novel--I want a dozen more " -- Amy Stewart

When a controversial celebrity rabbi drops dead over his matzoh ball soup at the famed Canter's Deli in Los Angeles, retired private eye Amos Parisman-- a sixtyish, no-nonsense Jewish detective who lives with his addled wife in Park La Brea--is hired by the temple's board to make sure everything is kosher. As he looks into what seems to be a simple, tragic accident, the ante is raised when more people start to die or disappear, and Amos uncovers a world of treachery and hurt that shakes a large L.A. Jewish community to its core.

About the Author


Andy Weinberger is a longtime bookseller who opened Readers' Books in Sonoma, California, with his wife, Lilla Weinberger, in 1991. Born in New York, he grew up in the Los Angeles area and studied poetry and Chinese history at the University of New Mexico. He lives in Sonoma, where Readers' Books continues to thrive. This is his first novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781684428724
ISBN-10: 1684428726
Publisher: Prospect Park Books
Publication Date: December 3rd, 2019
Pages: 232
Language: English